PHYSICAL/POSTAL ADDRESS:                                 15 Chemin Louis-Dunant
1202 Geneva
Switzerland                                                                          Tel: +41 22 733 02 20           Fax: +41 22 734 49 07

Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Office Hours:

Monday-Friday: 09h00-13h00/14h00-17h00


 Closed on Public Holidays







The Government


The Constitution promulgates a multiparty democracy with fundamental rights and freedoms, a mixed economy and states that foreign investment should be encouraged. It also follows the principle of a separation of powers and subject to checks and balances, whereby government is divided into three branches, the executive, the legislature and the judiciary.


The Executive is that branch of the government that sees to it that the laws passed by the National Assembly and Council are carried out. The Executive powers of Namibia vest with the President and the Cabinet. The President is therefore the head of State and government and the Commander-in-Chief of the Namibian Defence Force. He or She is elected by direct franchise in a national election every five years for a term of five years with a maximum of two terms.


The Cabinet consists of the President, the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister and Ministers appointed by the President. Together, they implement the policies guided by the constitution and acts of Parliament. The Prime Minister is the Chief Advisor to the President and the overall coordinator of the Government Offices, Ministries and Agencies. Under him/her are Ministers and Deputy Ministers and their staff members who are running different Ministries.

The current cabinet conists of:
H.E. Dr. Mr. Hifikepunye Pohamba, President
Right. Hon. Dr. Mr. Hage Geingob, Prime Minister
Hon. Marco Hausiku, Deputy Prime Minister
Hon. Mr. Nahas Angula, Minister of Defence
Hon. Dr. Mr. Nickey Iyambo, Ministry of Veterans Affairs
Hon. Ms. Pendukeni Iivula-Ithana, Minister of Home Affairs and Immigration
Hon. Ms. Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila, Minister of Finance
Hon. Ms. Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah, Minister of Foreign Affairs
Hon. Mr. Erkki Nghimtina, Minister of Works and Transport
Hon. Mr. Immanuel Ngatjizeko, Minister of Safety and Security
Hon. Dr. Mr. Albert Kawana, Minister of Presidential Affairs
Hon. Mr. John Mutorwa, Minister of Agriculture, Water, and Forestry
Hon. Mr. Alpheus !Naruseb, Minister of Lands and Resettlement
Hon. Mr. Joel Kaapanda, Minister of Information and Communication Technology
Hon. Dr. Mr. Richard Kamwi, Minister of Health and Social Services
Hon. Major General (Rtd) Charles Ndaxu Namoloh, Minister of Regional and Local Government and Housing
Hon. Ms. Rosalia Nghidinwa, Minister of Gender Equality and Child Welfare
Hon. Mr. Utoni Nujoma, Minister of Justice
Hon. Ms. Doreen Sioka Minister of Labour and Social Welfare
Hon. Mr. Bernhard Esau, Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources
Hon. Mr. Isak Katali, Minister of Mines & Energy
Hon. Mr. Uahekua Herunga, Minister of Environment and Tourism
Hon. Mr. Calle Schlettwein, Minister of Trade and Industry
Hon. Dr. Mr. David Namwandi, Minister of Education
Mr. Tom Alweendo, Director General: National Planning Commission


Bicameral legislature consists of the National Assembly (72 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms) and the National Council (26 seats; two members are chosen from each regional council to serve six year terms). The Legislature branch of government is responsible for making laws of the Country.


Supreme Court judges are appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Judicial Service Commission. The Judiciary is headed by the Chief Justice.


Regional and Local Governments Article 102 of the Constitution provides that the Country be divided into regional and local units. In keeping with this constitutional requirements, thirteen (13) administrative regions and many other Local Authorities have been established in terms of both Regional Councils Act and Local Authorities Acts of 1992.

A common feature in respect of Regional and Local Authority Councils is that they both have substantial fiscal powers and have to adhere to established procedures, systems and regulations in the day to day handling of financial matters. Taxes and levies may be collected in terms of Section 30 and 33 of the Local Authorities Act, 1992 and the Regional Councils Act, 1992 respectively. Cities and urban centers have their own municipal or town bodies that make ordinances to deal with their local issues and have the powers to enforce these ordinances.

 Furthermore, all Regional and Local bodies have the power to legislate regarding their own affairs as long as their acts and conduct do not conflict with the overall guidelines in the Constitution. Their laws and acts are subject to judicial review.